August 8th

At nine o’clock on the evening of the eighth day of the eighth month of the year 1839, eight earnest young men, all students at Miami University, held the first meeting of Beta Theta Pi in the Hall of the Union Literary Society, an upper room in the old college building (known as “Old Main.”). The eight founders in the order in which their names appear in the minutes were:
-John Reilly Knox, 1839
-Samuel Taylor Marshall, 1840
-David Linton, 1839
-James George Smith, 1840
-Charles Henry Hardin, 1841
-John Holt Duncan, 1840
-Michael Clarkson Ryan, 1839
-Thomas Boston Gordon, 1849
Of ever honored memory.

This post is posted on Monday 8 August 2011.
Currently has 315 notes
Tagged as: beta theta pi fraternity founders paragraph brotherhood
315 notes - Show notes
  1. th3xaurus reblogged this from progressordeath and added:
    I couldn’t be prouder today!
  2. rtmp127 reblogged this from progressordeath
  3. rainingidealism reblogged this from progressordeath
  4. javavine reblogged this from progressordeath
  5. progressordeath posted this